The Official Website of




04/08/2013 10:23 AM -

With the preseason coming to a close on Sunday, the Western New York Flash has announced its 2013 team roster.  The 20-player roster will represent five different countries, with nine players currently on national team rosters.

The Flash will have a few familiar faces on the sideline as Aaran Lines and Scott Vallow return for another championship run.  Lines has led the Flash to three-consecutive championships, most recently earning the WPSL-Elite crown in 2012. The two-time Fieldturf Coach of the Year will be assisted by Scott Vallow and Pedro Losa. Scott will also be the team's goalkeeper coach.

Six national team players were allocated to the WNY Flash. Rochester native Abby Wambach will be joined by her United States women's national team teammate, Carli Lloyd. Canadian duo Bryanna McCarthy and Jodi-Ann Robinson were also allocated to the team along with Veronica Perez and Pamela Tajonar of the Mexican National Team.

US National Team forward Abby Wambach will be the highlight of the Flash roster this season, as she returns to play in front of her hometown crowd in Rochester.  Wambach has a knack for drawing crowds, as her return during the USWNT Fan Tribute Tour brought a sellout crowd of 13,208 to the Flash's home venue of Sahlen's Stadium. 

Wambach currently sits in second place all-time in international goals, trailing former US superstar Mia Hamm by just three goals.  The 2012 FIFA Player of the Year will be joined by teammate Carli Lloyd, who is currently sidelined with a shoulder injury.  Lloyd's two goals in the 2012 Olympic gold medal match led the Americans to the podium, defeating Japan 2-1.

The Flash will also see the return of multiple players from last year's championship season. McCall Zerboni, Adriana, Alex Sahlen and Katherine Reynolds who were all signed to the team again as free agents while Angela Salem was selected second in the 2013 NWSL Supplemental Draft.

The Flash will look for production from Spanish International Adriana, as well as Mexican national Veronica Perez and the young Australian international Samantha Kerr.  Adrianna Franch, who was recently named to the US National Team, and Mexican National team member Pamela Tajonar will defend the Flash net.


The full team roster is as follows:


No.     Player     Pos.    

1    Pamela Tajonar    GK

2    Alex Sahlen    DEF   

3    Bryana McCarthy    DEF

4    Samantha Kerr    FWD

5    Kim Yokers    MID   

6    Angela Salem    MID   

7    McCall Zerboni    MID

8    Adriana    FWD

10    Carli Lloyd    MID

12    Estelle Johnson    DEF

13    Brittany Taylor    DEF

14     Sarah Huffman    MID

15    Vicki DiMartino    FWD

16    Katherine Reynolds    DEF

17    Veronica Perez    MID

19    Melinda Mercado    DEF

20    Abby Wambach    FWD

22    Amy Barczuk    DEF

23    Jodi-Ann Robinson    MID

24    Adrianna Franch    GK


Head Coach: Aaran Lines

Assistant Coach: Pedro Losa

Goalkeeper Coach: Scott Vallow

Head Athletic Trainer: Ryan Lail

Equipment Manager: Bill Hare

Assistant General Manager: Mike Cipolla

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Browse by Month »

August 2019
June 2019
May 2019
April 2019
March 2019
February 2019
January 2019
September 2018
July 2018
June 2018
April 2018
March 2018
February 2018
December 2017
October 2017
September 2017
August 2017
June 2017
May 2017
April 2017
March 2017
February 2017
January 2017
December 2016
November 2016
October 2016
September 2016
August 2016
July 2016
June 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
December 2015
November 2015
October 2015
September 2015
August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012