The Official Website of




08/28/2013 10:55 AM -

On Wednesday, the National Women's Soccer League announced the Best XI selections for the 2013 NWSL season.

Western New York Flash forward Abby Wambach and defender Brittany Taylor were among the 11 players selected ahead of the 2013 NWSL Championship game on Saturday, Aug. 31 at Sahlen's Stadium in Rochester, N.Y. between the Flash and Portland Thorns FC. The game kicks off at 8 p.m. ET and will be broadcast nationally live on FOX Sports 2.

Rookie goalkeeper Adrianna Franch was also selected to represent the Flash on the Second XI.

Wambach has led the Flash in every offensive category thus far, with 11 goals and eight assists in 19 appearances in the regular season.  Most recently, the U.S. Women's National Team allocation finished second in voting for the NWSL's Most Valuable Player.

With 36 total regular-season goals for the Flash, Wambach was involved in 19 of them, with three of her scores finishing as game-winners.  The Rochester native was also the first player to be selected as the NWSL Player of the Week on two occasions, winning in Week 5 and Week 9.

Taylor has been a stalwart for the Flash back line all season.  The University of Connecticut graduate has led a defense that boasted a league-best 20 goals against at the end of the regular season.  Through the NWSL semifinals, the defense has posted nine shutouts and a 9-1-2 record on home soil.

The defender, who was signed as a free agent, has also contributed on the offensive side with three goals and four assists this season.

The rookie Franch started in every regular-season game for the Flash, playing all but two minutes.  The Oklahoma State product entered the postseason atop the NWSL rankings for saves (98) and minutes (1978) with eight clean sheets.

Tickets for the inaugural NWSL Championship game are available online at wnyflash.com, in person at the Sahlen's Stadium box office or by calling (585) 454-KICK.


Best XI:
Goalkeeper: Nicole Barnhart, FC Kansas City
Defenders: Christie Rampone, Sky Blue FC; Leigh Ann Robinson, FC Kansas City; Becky Sauerbrunn, FC Kansas City; Brittany Taylor, WNY Flash;
Midfielders: Lori Chalupny, Chicago Red Stars; Jess Fishlock, Seattle Reign FC; Lauren Holiday, FC Kansas City; Diana Matheson, Washington Spirit
Forward: Sydney Leroux, Boston Breakers; Abby Wambach, WNY Flash


NWSL Second XI:
Goalkeeper: Adrianna Franch, Western New York Flash
Defenders: Rachel Buehler, Portland Thorns FC; Caitlin Foord, Sky Blue FC; Ali Krieger, Washington Spirit; Lauren Sesselmann, FC Kansas City
Midfielders: Megan Rapinoe, Seattle Reign FC; Desiree Scott, FC Kansas City; Erika Tymrak, FC Kansas City
Forwards: Alex Morgan, Portland Thorns FC; Lianne Sanderson, Boston Breakers; Christine Sinclair, Portland Thorns FC

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Browse by Month »

August 2019
June 2019
May 2019
April 2019
March 2019
February 2019
January 2019
September 2018
July 2018
June 2018
April 2018
March 2018
February 2018
December 2017
October 2017
September 2017
August 2017
June 2017
May 2017
April 2017
March 2017
February 2017
January 2017
December 2016
November 2016
October 2016
September 2016
August 2016
July 2016
June 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
December 2015
November 2015
October 2015
September 2015
August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012